The Athens AI Roundtable on AI in the Rule of Law 2020

November 16-17, 2020
Virtual

The Athens Roundtable on Artificial Intelligence and the Rule of Law is the premier international, multi- stakeholder roundtable specifically focused on legal systems and the rule of law. Co-founded in 2019 by The Future Society, IEEE SA, and ELONtech, and held under the patronage of H.E. the President of the Hellenic Republic Ms. Katerina Sakellaropoulou, the roundtable seeks to advance the sound development of policies, educational initiatives, and evidence- based instruments, including standards and certifications, intended to enable the trustworthy adoption of AI in legal systems, the practice of law, and related regulatory compliance.

The inaugural event, co-hosted in September 2019 in Athens with the prominent international law firm of Covington & Burling LLP and with the support of NYU School of Law’s Center on Civil Justice and of the law firm of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, included representatives from the EU Commission, the Council of Europe, the EU Parliament, OECD, UNESCO, eminent academic and research institutions active at the intersection of AI and the law (including Cambridge, Oxford, Princeton, and the Max Plank Institute), global corporations (including Microsoft, IBM, Google, and SAP), leading law societies (including the American Bar Association, the International Bar Association, and the Hamburg bar), major judicial training centers, advocates, prominent industry bodies, leading international law firms, and a range of other stakeholders.

The 2020 (virtual) event, scheduled for November 16th and 17th 2020 and hosted from New York City, will welcome many of the previous participants in order to create continuity in the roundtable’s purpose, but will also expand its participation to the Global South, with the support of UNESCO. The objective of the 2020 proceedings will be to review the progress of the AI governance initiatives of key participating regulatory and non-regulatory bodies, to hear the perspectives of General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officers of global corporations and other civil society stakeholders, to exchange views on emerging best practices, to discuss the world’s most mature AI standards and certifications initiatives, and to examine those initiatives in the context of specific real-world AI applications.

Programme

DAY 1: November 16

11:00am – 11:15am US ET | 17:00 – 17:15 CET: Welcome remarks.

● Nicolas Economou, CEO, H5; Chair, Law Committee, IEEE Global Initiative; Chair, Law & Society Initiative, The Future Society

● Eva Kaili, MEP and Chair of the Future of Science and Technology Panel, European Parliament (STOA)

● Sasha Rubel, Program Specialist, Digital Innovation and Transformation, UNESCO

● Konstantinos Karachalios, Managing Director, IEEE Standards Association

11:15am – 11:35am US ET | 17:15 – 17:35 CET: Opening addresses.

● Carl Bildt, former Prime Minister and former Foreign Minister of Sweden; Senior Advisor, Covington & Burling LLP

● Representative Yvette D. Clarke, U.S. House of Representatives, Vice Chair of the Energy and Commerce Committee

11:35am – 12:30pm US ET | 17:35 – 18:30 CET: AI regulatory and non-regulatory initiatives: updates and objectives.

● Kilian Gross, Head of Unit Technologies & Systems for Digitising Industry, European Commission

● Jan Kleijssen, Director, Information Society and Action against Crime, (including Ad Hoc Committee on AI (CAHAI)), Directorate General, Council of Europe

● Eileen M. Lach, Executive Committee Member, The IEEE Global Initiative on Ethics of Autonomous and Intelligent Systems; Member, Board of Directors, The Future Society

● Moderator: Alison Snyder, Managing Editor, Axios

12:35pm – 1:30pm US ET | 18:35 – 19:30 CET: Trustworthy AI: A view from industry.

● Julia Brickell, Esq., Executive Managing Director and General Counsel, H5; Lecturer, Law & Technology, Columbia University

● Michael Fitzpatrick, Head of Global Regulatory Affairs, Google

● Freek Staehr, Senior Vice President, SAP Legal; Member, SAP AI Ethics Steering Committee

● Frank Torres, Director of Consumer Affairs, Microsoft

● Jochen van der Burgt, Head of Digital Risk Management, Daimler

● Moderator: Lee Tiedrich, Partner, IP/Tech Transactions and Co-Chair, Artificial Intelligence Initiative, Covington & Burling LLP

1:35pm – 2:30pm US ET | 19:35 – 20:30 CET: Breakout sessions.

See list and speakers following the plenary agenda, below.

DAY 2: November 17

11:00am – 11:20am US ET | 17:00 – 17:20 CET: Opening remarks: Operationalizing AI ethics.

● Isabela Ferrari, Federal Judge, Second Regional Federal Court (Rio de Janeiro), Brazil

● Francesca Rossi, IBM AI Ethics Global Leader, AAAI President-Elect

11:20am – 12:15pm US ET | 17:20 – 18:15 CET: Trustworthy AI: a discussion with international legislators and legal practitioners.

● Lord Tim Clement-Jones, Member, UK House of Lords, former Chair, House of Lords Select Committee on Artificial Intelligence, and Co-Chair, All-Party, Parliamentary Group on Artificial Intelligence

● Martin Hansen, Of Counsel, Covington & Burling LLP

● Eva Kaili, MEP and Chair of the Future of Science and Technology Panel, European Parliament (STOA)

● VK Rajah, former Attorney-General and current Chairman, Advisory Council on the Ethical Use of AI and Data, Singapore

● Jim Shaughnessy, Executive Vice President, Head of Global Affairs, Workday

● Moderator: Eileen M. Lach, Executive Committee Member, The IEEE Global Initiative on Ethics of Autonomous and Intelligent Systems; Member, Board of Directors, The Future Society

12:20pm – 1:15pm US ET 18:20 – 19:15 CET: The search for the Unicorn: is there such a thing as a unified, values-driven, evidence-based AI Governance Framework?

● Clementina Barbaro, Co-Secretary, Ad Hoc Committee on Artificial Intelligence (CAHAI), Directorate General of Human Rights and Rule of Law, Council of Europe

● Merethe Eckhardt, Member, Working Group on the Quality of Justice, European Commission for the Efficiency of Justice (CEPEJ), Council of Europe

● Nicolas Economou, CEO, H5; Chair, Law Committee, IEEE Global Initiative; Chair, Law & Society Initiative, The Future Society

● Elham Tabassi, Chief of Staff, Information Technology Laboratory, United States National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

● Moderator: Marc Canellas, Vice-Chair, AI Policy Committee, IEEE-USA

1:20pm – 2:20pm US ET | 19:20 – 20:20 CET: The future of international AI governance: cooperation or competition?

● Bertrand Braunschweig, former Director, Paris Center of Excellence, Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence (GPAI)

● Laura Galindo, OECD Artificial Intelligence Policy, OECD ONE AI Secretariat

● Jan Kleijssen, Director, Information Society and Action against Crime, (including Ad Hoc Committee on AI (CAHAI)), Directorate General, Council of Europe.

● Paul Nemitz, Principal Adviser, Directorate General for Justice and Consumers, European Commission

● Sasha Rubel, Program Specialist, Digital Innovation and Transformation, UNESCO

● Moderator: Nicolas Miailhe, President, The Future Society

2:20pm – 2:30pm US ET | 20:20 – 20:30 CET: Closing remarks, next steps.

● Eva Kaili, MEP and Chair of the Future of Science and Technology Panel, European Parliament (STOA)

● Nicolas Miailhe, President, The Future Society

On November 16th (1:30 PM – 2:30 PM EST) attendees will be able to join one of the following Breakout Sessions.

Attendance is upon invitation only. If you wish to attend, please request an invitation at aiathens@thefuturesociety.org.